Lonnie Bunch

Lonnie Bunch is a historian and the founding director of the National Museum of African American History and Culture. In the past he served as the president and director of the Chicago History Museum and was the first curator at the California African American Museum.

Janet Clayton

Janet Clayton is senior vice president of corporate communications for Southern California Edison and its parent company Edison International, where she is a member of the managing committee. Prior to Edison, Clayton had a distinguished career at the Los Angeles Times as a reporter, California Editor and Editor of the Editorial Pages, where she was the editor of two Pulitzer Prize-winning series on the chronically homeless and the dysfunction of California government.

J. R. DeShazo

J. R. DeShazo is the Director of the UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation and is the Chair of the Department of Public Policy. He holds joint appointments within UCLA’s Institute of Environment and Sustainability as well as the Urban Planning and Civil and Environmental Engineering Departments. His research areas include environmental policy, clean technology, climate change policy, renewable energy policy, and sustainable transportation and water.

The Honorable Michael Dukakis

The Honorable Michael Dukakis was the Democratic Party Nominee for U.S. President in 1988 and served several terms as Governor of Massachusetts.He is currently a Professor of Political Science at Northeastern University and a visiting professor at the School of Public Affairs at UCLA. His research has focused on national health care policy reform and the lessons that national policy makers can learn from state reform efforts.

Toby Higbie

Toby Higbie is an associate professor in the UCLA Department of History, an advisor to the Institute for Research on Labor & Employment, and the faculty chair of the Labor & Workplace Studies undergraduate minor. His research focuses on the social, labor and working class history in North America.

Meyer Luskin

Meyer Luskin has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of Scope Industries since 1961. Mr. Luskin serves as the Chief Executive Officer at Scope Products Inc. The company makes high-calorie animal feed from bakery waste. He is responsible primarily for the formation of overall corporate policy and operations of Scope Industries’ main business groups. Mr. Luskin is founder of several companies and has been on the board of directors of various entities, including companies on the New York Stock exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ He is a director and formerly Chair of the Board of Advisors of the UCLA-Santa Monica Hospital, a director and formerly Chair of the Board of Directors of the Orthopaedic Institute for Children, a board director of the Jazz Bakery, the Alliance for College Ready Public Schools, the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs, the Luskin Center for Innovation, and the UCLA Foundation. He is also currently a member of the board of directors of OSI, Inc., a NASDAQ company in the security and health care industries. He also serves on their executive, audit, and compensation committees.

The Honorable Jane Harman

The Honorable Jane Harman is the first woman director of the Wilson Center in Washington, D.C. She represented California’s 36th district for several terms in the United States Congress. Her expertise includes human rights, security, terrorism, intelligence, and U.S domestic and foreign policy.

Kelly Lytle Hernández

Kelly Lytle Hernández is an associate professor in the UCLA Department of History. She is one of the nation’s leading historians of race, policing, immigration, and incarceration in the United States.

Janina Montero

Janina Montero is the UCLA Emerita Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs. During her 13 year tenure, she has overseen more than 20 departments and programs that aim to improve students’ quality of life on and off campus. (e.g., Enrollment Management, the Arthur Ashe Student Health and Wellness Center, the UCLA Career Center).

David Myers

David Myers is a Professor and the Sady and Ludwig Kahn Chair in Jewish History at UCLA. He has written extensively in the fields of modern Jewish intellectual and cultural history, with a particular interest in the history of Jewish historiography. He has previously served as Robert N. Burr Chair of the History Department and as director of the UCLA Center for Jewish Studies.

Rosalind Remer

Rosalind Remer holds a PhD in History from UCLA, is a Vice Provost & Lenfest Executive Director of the Drexel University Center for Cultural Partnerships, and is an affiliated faculty member in Drexel’s Department of History. She was formerly a professor of history at Moravian College in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and directed the planning efforts for the National Constitution Center. Remer’s focus includes public history, and museum planning and administration.

Angela R. Riley

Angela R. Riley is law professor at the UCLA School of Law and is the Director of UCLA’s Native Nations Law and Policy Center. Riley’s research focuses on indigenous peoples’ rights, with an emphasis on cultural property and Native governance.

Gary M. Segura

Gary M. Segura is the Dean of the Luskin School of Public Affairs at UCLA. His work focuses on issues of political representation and social cleavages, the domestic politics of wartime public opinion, and the politics of America’s growing Latino minority. In 2010, he was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Raphe Sonenshein

Raphe Sonenshein is the Executive Director of the Pat Brown Institute for Public Affairs at Cal State Los Angeles. Previously, he was Chair of the Division of Politics, Administration, and Justice at CSU Fullerton where he taught political science for 29 years. Sonenshein served as Executive Director of the City of Los Angeles (Appointed) Charter Reform Commission and has since advised charter reforms in Glendale, Burbank, Culver City, Anaheim, Huntington Beach, and Tucson, and as Executive Director of the Los Angeles Neighborhood Council Review Commission.

The Honorable Zev Yaroslavsky

The Honorable Zev Yaroslavsky is the director of the Los Angeles Initiative at the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs and a professor in the Department of History. As a longtime representative on the Los Angeles City Council and the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors, he has been involved in issues of transportation, environment, health care, and cultural arts.